
  

To complete the renewal by mail, you will need to do the following: 

1. Complete the renewal exam
2. Answer the felony question. Note: If you have not been convicted of a felony, check “NO”
3. Sign and date the attestation

4. Submit the completed application and non-refundable renewal fee according to the fee schedule

below

$50 – renewals postmarked or submitted online before midnight on the expiration date$75 –

renewals postmarked or submitted online after the expiration date

$125 – renewals postmarked or submitted more than six months after expiration of the license

NAME CHANGE – Please renew by submitting this form 
along with a copy of your updated U.S. government 
issued photo ID and social security card reflecting your 
legal name change.

ADDRESS CHANGE– Please renew by providing your 
correct address on this form above along with a legible 
copy of your U.S. government issued photo ID. 

 

 

Please note that under K.S.A. 65-1902(a)(1), it is unlawful to provide services for consumers with an expired or invalid practitioner license. Please allow 
10 business days to receive your new license following submission of your renewal. 

 
 

RENEW BY MAIL CHANGE OF NAME OR ADDRESS – RENEW BY MAIL

FEE PAYMENT $50/$75/$125 (See Above)*
Please attach a check or money order to this form made payable to: Kansas Board of Cosmetology

Please attach a check or money order to this form made payable to: Kansas Board of Cosmetology

FELONY CONVICTION

Incomplete applications are not accepted and will be returned for completion.  An application is incomplete if you fail to answer the felony question, sign 
and date the attestation, submit the appropriate fee (includes insufficient funds or declined credit card) and/or complete the renewal exam.  If your corrected 

renewal application is submitted after the expiration date of the license, the appropriate delinquent fee must be enclosed (see above). 

ATTESTATION:  I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Kansas that the information provided above is true and 
correct. 

 DATE: _______________

EMAIL: _____________________________________ PHONE: (_____)__________________ 

________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________

Name:  __________________

Address:  __________________

 __________________ 

License #: __________________ 

*Exp. Date: __________________

License Type: ____ Cosmetologist 
____ Esthetician    
____ Manicurist  
____ Electrologistoi

**NOTICE** 
You must notify the Board office if you have not received your license within 90 days of the date of your renewal or application submission. Failure

to do so may result in a $25 duplicate license fee 

*Renewals can be submitted no sooner than six weeks before the expiration date of the license.  Renewals submitted
prior to six weeks before the expiration date will be returned to the licensee and will not be retained by the Board office.

Please type or Sign your  name above

Credit Card Payment $50/$75/$125 (See Above)
1). Go to the Board website: www.kansas.gov/kboc 

 2). Select Payment Portal from the Top Menu Bar
3). Transaction Item = Practitioner Renewal Fee 
4). Record your Order ID # from your emailed receipt below 
Order ID # _______________________

Check or Money Order Payment $50/$75/$125 (See Above)
1). Complete this form 
2). Make Check or Money Order Payable to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology 
3). Mail form and payment to the Board office at the address provided above.

Practitioner Renewal Form
Cosmetologist, Esthetician, Manicurist, and Electrologist

Last Revised 03/26/2024

Have you been convicted of a felony since your last renewal? Yes ___ No ___  If yes, you must provide your case number(s): _________________ 

If this is the first time you have notified the Board of this conviction, you must submit form #77 Felony Reporting Packet, which can be found on our 
website on the Forms and Applications page. Pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1908, failure to disclose all felony conviction(s) may result in disciplinary action. 

KSA 65-1904 (g) Any person who failed to obtain a renewal license while in the armed forces of the United States shall be entitled to a renewal license upon filing 
application, paying the nonrefundable renewal fee for the current year during which the person has been discharged and successfully completing the renewal exam

Kansas Board of Cosmetology
714 SW Jackson Suite 100 Topeka, KS 66603

Telephone: (785) 296-3155 Fax: (785) 296-3002
Email: Kboc@ks.gov Website: www.kansas.gov/kboc

mailto:kboc@ks.gov
www.kansas.gov/kboc/


1. If a blood exposure occurs while providing a consumer service, the practitioner must 
disinfect all equipment, instruments and surfaces with::  
A. An EPA-registered disinfecting solution that is bactericidal, virucidal, and 

fungicidal or bleach solution.
B. Styptic.
C. Antiseptic.
D. Hot soapy water.

2. After an application is submitted for a new establishment, what must happen before 
services can be provided? 
A. The applicant pays the necessary fees and the license is issued.
B. The Board inspects the equipment and premises to determine compliance with 

rules and regulations. 
C. A background check on the future owner is initiated.
D. The Board issues a notice of intent and establishes a 30-day waiting period to 

check the business plan.

3. Possessing methyl methacrylate monomer (MMA) is:
A. Acceptable in the state of Kansas.
B. Allowed if a certificate of training is available.
C. Permitted if done by a manicurist.
D. Prohibited.

4. Single-use items::
A. Must be immediately discarded & placed in a covered waste receptacle after use.
B. Have to be made of soft plastic.
C. Have to be made of non-porous material.
D. Should never be used in the first place.

5. Before  beginning a client service, the practitioner MUST:
A. Discuss fees with the client.
B. Ask the client to sign a waiver.
C. Wash their hands with soap and water or use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer.
D. Fill out a client information card to include an emergency phone number.

6. A  bleach solution when used for disinfecting purposes must be:
A. One part water and two parts bleach.
B. Two parts water and two parts bleach.
C. Three parts bleach and one part water.
D. A chlorine bleach that is mixed, stored, and used according to manufacturer's 

instructions.

7. Should a blood exposure occur during a consumer service, the practitioner MUST:
A. Stop the service immediately and take the necessary steps to prevent any transfer 

of bloodborne pathogens.
B. Ask for another practitioner's assistance. 
C. Continue the service.
D. Call an emergency medical technician.

8. If there is a possibility a practitioner will be exposed to blood or bodily fluids during a 
consumer service, the practitioner MUST:
A. Refuse to offer service to the patron.
B. Wear single-use protective gloves.
C. Have the patron sign a health release form.
D. Make sure that hands are washed frequently during the service.

9. Which documents MUST be displayed in a licensed facility within easy view of the 
consumer? 
A. The facility license, the manager’s license and the Safety Data Sheets 

(SDS). 
B. The complaint sign provided by the Board, the most recent inspection report, the 

facility/salon license, the infection control regulations and each practitioner’s 
license. 

C. The facility license, the Workers Compensation law and the most recent inspection 
report. 

D. The past three inspection reports.

10. For each disinfectant used in the establishment or school, the following must be provided 
to the Board's designee:
A. The receipt confirming purchase for each disinfectant.
B. The SDS and manufacturer labeled container.
C. The covered disinfectant container in which instruments are immersed.
D. An itemized order form for purchase of each disinfectant.

11. Immediately after providing a pedicure service, the "pedicure equipment" MUST:
A. Be drained of water.
B. Be cleaned with soap and water to remove all debris from all parts.
C. Be disinfected with a bleach solution or an EPA-registered disinfectant that 

has circulated through after which the equipment is drained and rinsed with 
potable water.

D. All of the above.

12. After each service, the removable parts of the pedicure equipment must be removed 
and:
A. Washed with soap or detergent and disinfected with a bleach solution or 

EPA-registered disinfectant.
B. Washed with a chamois. 
C. Sprayed with warm soapy water.
D. Let dry.

13. Disinfectants and bleach solutions shall be changed:
A. At least once a week.
B. Daily or more often if the disinfectant or bleach solution becomes visibly 

cloudy or dirty.
C. After each service.
D. Monthly.

14. Disinfectants used in licensed establishments must be _______ registered.
A. FDA - Food and Drug Administration
B. OPA - Occupational Protection Agency
C. DOL - U.S. Department of Labor
D. EPA - Environmental Protection Agency

15. Which of the following is prohibited in a licensed establishment?
A. Using invasive skin-removal techniques, products, and practices.
B. Neck dusters.
C. Nail dusters.
D. All of the above.

16. When disinfecting the pedicure equipment, you must circulate an EPA-registered 
disinfectant or bleach solution for ____.
A. 5 minutes
B. 10 minutes
C. 60 seconds
D. 20 minutes

17. Nonelectrical implements, such as tweezers, must be thoroughly cleaned and then:
A. Totally immersed in an EPA-registered disinfectant or bleach solution.
B. Totally immersed in water only.
C. Placed in an EPA-registered antiseptic solution.
D. Briefly dipped in alcohol.

18. After they have been properly cleaned and disinfected, instruments should be 
stored in a _______ container, cabinet, or drawer.
A. Permanently sealed
B. Disposable
C. Clean, uncovered
D. Clean, covered, and properly labeled

19. Clean means:
A. Washing with hand sanitizer.
B. Totally immersing in an EPA-registered disinfectant.
C. Rinsing under hot water.
D. Free of visible or surface debris through washing with soap and water or 

with detergent and water.

20. Any razor-type device used to remove calluses or skim blemishes is:
A. Acceptable in the state of Kansas.
B. Allowed if the practitioner is certified to use such equipment.
C. Prohibited.
D. Permitted if done by a cosmetologist.

RENEWAL EX AM 
State law requires each practitioner successfully complete (75% or better) the below exam based on Kansas law and regulation. Reference the laws and regulations at 

www.kansas.gov/kboc. Only one correct answer per question is listed; choose the appropriate correct answer. You will be notified if you failed the renewal exam.

 If you have questions about this form please e-mail  vickie.rodriguez@ks.gov
Last Revised 03/26/2024

https://www.kansas.gov/kboc/StatsandRegs.htm
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