

## Kansas Board of Cosmetology

714 SW Jackson Suite 100 Topeka, KS 66603 Telephone: (785) 296-3155 Fax: (785) 296-3002 Email: Kboc@ks.gov Website: www.kansas.gov/kboc

## Practitioner Renewal Form

Cosmetologist, Esthetician, Manicurist, and Electrologist License #: \_\_\_ Name: License Type: Cosmetologist Address: **Esthetician** \*Exp. Date: Manicurist \*Renewals can be submitted no sooner than six weeks before the expiration date of the license. Renewals submitted **Electrologist** prior to six weeks before the expiration date will be returned to the licensee and will **not** be retained by the Board office. CHANGE OF NAME OR ADDRESS - RENEW BY MAIL **RENEW BY MAIL** To complete the renewal by mail, you will need to do the following: NAME CHANGE - Please renew by submitting this form 1. Complete the renewal exam Answer the felony question. Note: If you have not been convicted of a felony, check "NO" along with a copy of your updated U.S. government issued photo ID and social security card reflecting your Sign and date the attestation legal name change. Submit the completed application and non-refundable renewal fee according to the fee schedule below ADDRESS CHANGE- Please renew by providing your correct address on this form above along with a legible \$50 – renewals postmarked or submitted online before midnight on the expiration date\$75 – copy of your U.S. government issued photo ID. renewals postmarked or submitted online after the expiration date \$125 - renewals postmarked or submitted more than six months after expiration of the license KSA 65-1904 (g) Any person who failed to obtain a renewal license while in the armed forces of the United States shall be entitled to a renewal license upon filing application, paying the nonrefundable renewal fee for the current year during which the person has been discharged and successfully completing the renewal exam FEE PAYMENT \$50/\$75/\$125 (See Above)\* Credit Card Payment \$50/\$75/\$125 (See Above) Check or Money Order Payment \$50/\$75/\$125 (See Above) 1). Go to the Board website: www.kansas.gov/kboc 1). Complete this form 2). Select Payment Portal from the Top Menu Bar 2). Make Check or Money Order Payable to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology 3). Transaction Item = Practitioner Renewal Fee 3). Mail form and payment to the Board office at the address provided above. 4). Record your Order ID # from your emailed receipt below Order ID# **FELONY CONVICTION** Have you been convicted of a felony since your last renewal? Yes \_\_\_\_ No \_\_\_ If yes, you must provide your case number(s): \_ If this is the first time you have notified the Board of this conviction, you must submit form #77 Felony Reporting Packet, which can be found on our website on the Forms and Applications page. Pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1908, failure to disclose all felony conviction(s) may result in disciplinary action. ATTESTATION: I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Kansas that the information provided above is true and correct. PHONE: ( ) EMAIL: Please type or Sign your name above

Please note that under K.S.A. 65-1902(a)(1), it is unlawful to provide services for consumers with an expired or invalid practitioner license. Please allow 10 business days to receive your new license following submission of your renewal.

Incomplete applications are not accepted and will be returned for completion. An application is incomplete if you fail to answer the felony question, sign and date the attestation, submit the appropriate fee (includes insufficient funds or declined credit card) and/or complete the renewal exam. If your corrected renewal application is submitted after the expiration date of the license, the appropriate delinquent fee must be enclosed (see above).

## \*\*NOTICE\*\*

You must notify the Board office if you have not received your license within 90 days of the date of your renewal or application submission. Failure to do so may result in a \$25 duplicate license fee

## **RENEWAL EXAM**

State law requires each practitioner successfully complete (75% or better) the below exam based on Kansas law and regulation. Reference the laws and regulations at www.kansas.gov/kboc. Only one correct answer per question is listed; choose the appropriate correct answer. You will be notified if you failed the renewal exam.

- If a blood exposure occurs while providing a consumer service, the practitioner must disinfect all equipment, instruments and surfaces with:
  - An EPA-registered disinfecting solution that is bactericidal, virucidal, and fungicidal or bleach solution.
  - B. Styptic.
  - C. Antiseptic.
  - D. Hot soapy water.
- 2. After an application is submitted for a new establishment, what must happen before services can be provided?
  - The applicant pays the necessary fees and the license is issued.
  - B. The Board inspects the equipment and premises to determine compliance with rules and regulations.
  - C. A background check on the future owner is initiated.
  - The Board issues a notice of intent and establishes a 30-day waiting period to check the business plan.
- 3. Possessing methyl methacrylate monomer (MMA) is:
  - A. Acceptable in the state of Kansas.
  - B. Allowed if a certificate of training is available.
  - C. Permitted if done by a manicurist.
  - D. Prohibited.
- 4. Single-use items::
  - A. Must be immediately discarded & placed in a covered waste receptacle after use.
  - B. Have to be made of soft plastic.
  - C. Have to be made of non-porous material.
  - D. Should never be used in the first place.
- 5. Before beginning a client service, the practitioner MUST:
  - A. Discuss fees with the client.
  - B. Ask the client to sign a waiver.
  - C. Wash their hands with soap and water or use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer.
  - D. Fill out a client information card to include an emergency phone number.
- 6. A bleach solution when used for disinfecting purposes must be:
  - A. One part water and two parts bleach.
  - B. Two parts water and two parts bleach.
  - C. Three parts bleach and one part water.
  - A chlorine bleach that is mixed, stored, and used according to manufacturer's instructions.
- 7. Should a blood exposure occur during a consumer service, the practitioner MUST:
  - A. Stop the service immediately and take the necessary steps to prevent any transfer of bloodborne pathogens.
  - B. Ask for another practitioner's assistance.
  - C. Continue the service.
  - D. Call an emergency medical technician.
- 8. If there is a possibility a practitioner will be exposed to blood or bodily fluids during a consumer service, the practitioner MUST:
  - A. Refuse to offer service to the patron.
  - B. Wear single-use protective gloves.
  - C. Have the patron sign a health release form.
  - D. Make sure that hands are washed frequently during the service.
- 9. Which documents MUST be displayed in a licensed facility within easy view of the consumer?
  - The facility license, the manager's license and the Safety Data Sheets (SDS)
  - B. The complaint sign provided by the Board, the most recent inspection report, the facility/salon license, the infection control regulations and each practitioner's license
  - C. The facility license, the Workers Compensation law and the most recent inspection report.
  - D. The past three inspection reports.
- 10. For each disinfectant used in the establishment or school, the following must be provided to the Board's designee:
  - A. The receipt confirming purchase for each disinfectant.
  - B. The SDS and manufacturer labeled container.
  - C. The covered disinfectant container in which instruments are immersed.
  - D. An itemized order form for purchase of each disinfectant.

- 11. Immediately after providing a pedicure service, the "pedicure equipment" MUST:
  - A Be drained of water
  - B. Be cleaned with soap and water to remove all debris from all parts.
  - Be disinfected with a bleach solution or an EPA-registered disinfectant that has circulated through after which the equipment is drained and rinsed with potable water.
  - D. All of the above.
- 12. After each service, the removable parts of the pedicure equipment must be removed and:
  - Washed with soap or detergent and disinfected with a bleach solution or EPA-registered disinfectant.
  - B. Washed with a chamois.
  - C. Sprayed with warm soapy water.
  - D. Let dry.
- 13. Disinfectants and bleach solutions shall be changed:
  - At least once a week.
  - Daily or more often if the disinfectant or bleach solution becomes visibly cloudy or dirty.
  - C. After each service.
  - D. Monthly.
- 14. Disinfectants used in licensed establishments must be \_\_\_\_\_\_ registered
  - A. FDA Food and Drug Administration
  - B. OPA Occupational Protection Agency
  - C. DOL U.S. Department of Labor
  - D. EPA Environmental Protection Agency
- 15. Which of the following is prohibited in a licensed establishment?
  - A. Using invasive skin-removal techniques, products, and practices.
  - B. Neck dusters.
  - C. Nail dusters.
  - D. All of the above.
- When disinfecting the pedicure equipment, you must circulate an EPA-registered disinfectant or bleach solution for
  - A. 5 minutes
  - B. 10 minutes
  - C. 60 seconds
  - D. 20 minutes
- 17. Nonelectrical implements, such as tweezers, must be thoroughly cleaned andthen:
  - A. Totally immersed in an EPA-registered disinfectant or bleach solution.
  - Totally immersed in water only.
  - C. Placed in an EPA-registered antiseptic solution.
  - D. Briefly dipped in alcohol.
- **18.** After they have been properly cleaned and disinfected, instruments should be stored in a \_\_\_\_\_\_ container, cabinet, or drawer.
  - A. Permanently sealed
  - B. Disposable
  - C. Clean, uncovered
  - D. Clean, covered, and properly labeled
- 19. Cleanmeans:
  - A. Washing with hand sanitizer.
  - B. Totally immersing in an EPA-registered disinfectant.
  - C. Rinsing under hot water.
  - Free of visible or surface debris through washing with soap and water or with detergent and water.
- 20. Any razor-type device used to remove calluses or skim blemishes is:
  - A. Acceptable in the state of Kansas.
  - B. Allowed if the practitioner is certified to use such equipment.
  - C. Prohibited.
  - D. Permitted if done by a cosmetologist.