

714 SW Jackson Suite 100 Topeka, KS 66603 Telephone: (785) 296-3155 Fax: (785) 296-3002 Email: Kboc@ks.gov Website: www.kansas.gov/kboc

APPLICATION FOR OUT-OF-STATE LICENSURE

Do not use this form to reinstate or renew a previously issued Kansas license. To renew or reinstate your Kansas license, please use the following link for available options. https://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Licenserenewaloptions.htm

The following outlines requirements for Kansas licensure in body art professions pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1949:

69-15-4 Out-of-state equivalent course of study.

Each applicant who has completed a training program in another state or jurisdiction shall show that all of the following conditions are met, for that training program to be approved by the board:

As an apprentice under the supervision of an approved trainer: 1200 hours of theory and practical experience that include 50 completed procedures. A training program directly supervised by an approved trainer shall be limited to one trainee.

In an approved school: 600 hours of theory and practical experience that include 50 completed procedures.

The training program must have covered the areas of theory and practical experience specified in K.A.R. 69-15-2. If the training program completed in another state or jurisdiction included hours allotted to studying the laws and regulations of that state or jurisdiction, those hours may count toward the required number of hours allotted to studying Kansas statutes and regulations.

The instructions on pages 2 - 4 will outline details for submissions.

The following outlines the requirements for Kansas reciprocity licensure for the professions under the jurisdiction of the Board of Cosmetology pursuant to K.S.A. 48-3406. To qualify under this provision, applicants must be one of the following:

- 1. A reciprocity applicant who is a military member (active or honorably discharged) or a spouse of military member.
- 2. A reciprocity applicant who has established or intends to establish residency in KS.

Applicants who work in a US State, District or Territory that requires licensure for the profession must:

- Hold valid license or certification from another US state, district or territory in the profession in which Kansas requires licensure.
- Have at least one-year work experience

Applicants who work in a US State, District or Territory in which the profession is not regulated and have a private certification must:

- Have worked at least two years prior to the application date in the profession in which Kansas requires licensure.
- Be in good standing with the private organization

Applicants who work in a US State, District or Territory in which the profession is not regulated and have no private certification must:

Have worked at least three years in the last four years prior to the application date in the profession in which Kansas requires licensure.

Failure to complete all sections on this application and/or submit all supporting documentation as described below will result in significant licensing delays. Please read and complete ALL sections to ensure the fastest processing.

This application and all supporting documentation should be submitted to:

The Kansas Board Of Cosmetology 714 SW Jackson St, Ste 100 Topeka, KS 66603 kboc@ks.gov

Last Revised 03/27/2024



714 SW Jackson Suite 100 Topeka, KS 66603 Telephone: (785) 296-3155 Fax: (785) 296-3002 Email: Kboc@ks.gov Website: www.kansas.gov/kboc

INSTRUCTIONS FOR SUBMISSIONS

Please read all directions in full as they correspond to each section on the application.

1. Section #1 Applicant Information

1. Legible photocopy of your current U.S. Government issued photo identification

Examples: State issued ID or Driver's License, Passport, Passport Card, Military ID (front and back)

2. Legible photocopy of your social security card

The name on the application and the identification documents must match. The name on the ID and social security card must match.

3. Legal name change documents (if applicable)

If you have had a legal name change, please include a copy of the legal documents verifying the change of name (marriage license, divorce decree, birth certificate, etc.) This documentation will be required if you have a previous name displayed on your High School equivalency document.

2. Section #2 Felony Convictions

Felony Convictions

The Board requires you to disclose all felony convictions even if they did not occur in Kansas or you were told they did not appear on a background check. You MUST provide your case number(s) in order for your application to be considered.

When applicable, the following packet should be submitted along with your application: 77. Felony Reporting Packet

3. Section#3FeePayment

Submit the \$75 non-refundable fee by credit card, check, or money order Record the Order ID# from your credit card receipt on your application

4. Section#4 Military Service

Military Service, Spouse, or Member

Submit a legible photocopy of your CAC, Military ID (front and back), or DD-214

5. <u>Section #5 Citizenship Status</u>

U.S. Citizen, non-immigrant with a visa, permanent resident/resident alien Submit a legible photocopy of your resident alien card (front and back)

6. Section #6 Licensure and Training Verification

A. License Verification:

Contact each US State, District or Territory licensing body board in which you have been licensed and/or completed professional training and request verification be sent to our office. The verification must be sent directly to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology from the licensing body, we cannot accept this documentation from applicants or from schools outside of Kansas. Board staff must be able to independently verify your license; in some cases, other official documents may be required by KBOC for licensure.

Professional training attained outside the United States:

If you completed any professional training outside of the United States, it must be verified and evaluated for training equivalence. The verification must include information regarding the duration of training, the number of instructional hours, and the subject matter of the training. Contact an educational credential evaluation company and request verification be sent directly to our office. We cannot accept this documentation from applicants. The Board will consider approval of credential evaluations on a case by case basis and does not guarantee acceptance. You can find lists of accredited educational credential service providers here:

https://www.naces.org/ https://aice-eval.org/

Private certification verification:

Contact the organization in which you are currently certified and request verification of good standing be sent to this office. The organization providing the certification must be within another state or jurisdiction of the United States. The verification must be sent directly to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology from the organization providing verification. We cannot accept this documentation from applicants. The verification should include the organization name, contact information including address of business, the duration of training, the number of instructional hours, the subject matter of the training and the requirements necessary for the practitioner to remain in current good standing with the organization after receiving the certification.



714 SW Jackson Suite 100 Topeka, KS 66603 Telephone: (785) 296-3155 Fax: (785) 296-3002 Email: Kboc@ks.gov Website: www.kansas.gov/kboc

6. Section #6 Licensure and Training Verification (continued from previous page)

B. Verification of Training:

i. Final Operating Record

Submit a final operating report detailing your training hours that displays the notarized signature of your trainer. (If you are unable to provide this, please include an explanation with your application.)

ii. Curriculum

Submit a copy of the curriculum used during your training program that displays the notarized signature of your trainer. (If you are unable to provide this, please include an explanation with your application.)

iii. Completed Procedures

Please refer to <u>Policy 003-12 Verification of Body Art Completed Procedures</u> for submission guidance for this requirement. (If you are unable to provide this, please include an explanation with your application.)

iv. Verification of Licensed Trainer

Contact the licensing body board where your trainer was licensed and request verification be sent to our office. The verification must be sent directly to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology from the licensing body, we cannot accept this documentation from applicants or from schools outside of Kansas. Board staff must be able to independently verify the license; in some cases, other official documents may be required by KBOC for licensure.

v. Verification of Continuing Education

Submit verification of eight (8) hours Board approved infection control and blood borne pathogens training, (Body Piercers must include copy of CPR certification.) A list of pre-approved Continuing Education for Body Art Practitioners can be found here: https://www.kansas.gov/kboc/Docs/Pre-Approved Continuing Education for Body Art Practitioners.pdf

7. Section #7 Employment History:

Contact each place of employment and request an employment verification letter be sent directly to this office. The verification letter must be sent directly to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology from the employer, we cannot accept this documentation from applicants.

The verification letter must include the following:

- 1. The employer's name and the full address of the business
- 2. Your full name
- 3. The dates of your employment
- 4. Your job title

You must provide your employment history relevant to the application and complete the employment verification affidavit stating that the application information and employment history is true and accurate. Board staff must be able to independently verify your employment, unverified employment will not be recognized.

8. Section #8 High School Education

1. High School Transcript

Please contact the high school from which you graduated and request a high school transcript denoting your date of graduation, be sent to our office. This must be sent directly to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology from the issuing party. We cannot accept this documentation from applicants. Issuing party includes services obtained by the issuing party for sending education documents digitally such as Parchment, GED Diploma Sender, etc.

How do I know if the Board will accept my High School Transcript?
 Follow this link to review the Board's High School Guidelines

9. GED Verification:

Applicants who did not graduate from an accredited high school may meet this requirement by requesting to have their graduate equivalent diploma (GED) transcripts sent from the issuing party. Issuing party includes services obtained by the issuing party for sending education documents digitally such as Parchment, GED Diploma Sender, etc.

3. High school education attained outside the United States:

If you completed high school outside of the U.S., your high school transcript must be verified and evaluated for educational equivalency. Contact an educational credential evaluation company and request verification be sent directly to our office. We cannot accept this documentation from applicants. The Board will consider approval of credential evaluations on a case by case basis and does not guarantee acceptance. You can find lists of accredited educational credential service providers here:

https://www.naces.org/

Last Revised 03/27/2024 3



714 SW Jackson Suite 100 Topeka, KS 66603 Telephone: (785) 296-3155 Fax: (785) 296-3002 Email: Kboc@ks.gov Website: www.kansas.gov/kboc

9. Section #9 Attestation

The Board requires you to complete the attestation. A typed signature will **NOT** be accepted.

When should I expect an update?

The Board asks that you allow 7-10 business days to process all documentation received. Application status updates will be sent to the email address you provided. The out-of-state license process typically takes <u>no less than</u> 3 weeks and is dependent on the submission of the required supporting documentation as outlined above. Please refrain from contacting our office more than once every 7-10 business days following a status update to ensure the fastest possible service.

Possible paths to licensure:

Submission of this application does not guarantee you will be issued a Kansas license. Board staff will review your individual circumstances upon receipt of this completed application, the non-refundable fee, and all supporting documentation. You can help ensure Board staff are able to provide you with the quickest and least restrictive path to a Kansas license by completing all required fields and requesting all supporting documentation. Incomplete applications will not be processed.

Possible outcomes:

After Board Staff has reviewed your application, you will receive an e-mail update outlining the quickest and least restrictive path to a Kansas license. This includes but is not limited to:

- Applicant qualifies for a license via self-test which will be emailed to the applicant upon completion of the application. You may download the Kansas laws and regulations at www.kansas.gov/kboc.
- Applicants may be required to earn additional training hours and/or take the Board exams to be issued a Kansas license. An additional license fee of \$25.00 plus the cost of exams will be assessed. These applicants will receive their exam information via email upon completion of the application. A temporary permit application will be offered to applicants at this time. Only applicants required to take exams will be eligible for the temporary permit. Please use the following link to access information about examinations: Exam Info.

Last Revised 03/27/2024



714 SW Jackson Suite 100 Topeka, KS 66603 Telephone: (785) 296-3155 Fax: (785) 296-3002 Email: Kboc@ks.gov Website: www.kansas.gov/kboc

APPLICATION FOR OUT-OF-STATE LICENSURE

Complete this application by typing into the fields below. Forward the completed application to the Board with the following documentation:

- 1. **Non-refundable** \$75 application fee (check, money order, or credit card accepted)
- 2. **Legible photocopy** of your social security card and your current U.S. government issued photo identification (i.e. driver's license, state identification card, or military identification). The name on the application and the identification documents must match. The name on the ID and social security card must match.
 - Supporting documentation for each section. Please see the instructions on pages 2 -4 for submission requirement details.

#1 Applicant Information		
License type for which you are applying: Tattoo Artist: Body Piercer:	Cosmetic Tattoo Artist: Tattoo/Cosmetic Tattoo A	Artist:
Do you reside or intend to reside in Kansas?		
Full Legal Name:	Male □ Female □	
Last	Middle IVIale I Ferriale I	
Address:(Street) (City/S	State) (Zip)	
Phone Number: ()Date of Birth:*S	Social Security Number:	•
E-mail Address:Application confirmati	on, updates, and testing information will be sent to the email address	provided.
List ALL other last names or legal names you have had:		
If you have had a legal name change, please include a copy of the legal documents verifying the ch	nange of name (marriage license, divorce decree, government issued ID, et	ıc.).
* Disclosure is mandatory for licensure and authorized by KSA 74-148 and 74-139. It is used to ver	rify identity and license individuals lawfully residing in the U.S. Upon reque	est of the
director of taxation, each such authority shall provide to the director of taxation a listing of all such a		
#2 Felony Conviction		
Have you been convicted of a felony? Yes No If yes, you must provi	ide your case number(s):	
If this is the first time you have notified the Board of this conviction, you must submit form #77 Felony Reporting Packet, which can be found		
on our website on the Forms and Applications page. Pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1908, failure to disclose all felony conviction(s) may result in		
disciplinary action.		
#3 Fee Payment \$75		
Credit Card Payment \$75		
1). Go to the Board website: www.kansas.gov/kboc	Check or Money Order Payment \$75	
Select Payment Portal from the Top Menu Bar Transaction Item = Practitioner Initial License Fee	 Complete this form Make Check or Money Order Payable to the Kansas Board of 	of
4). Record your Order ID # from your emailed receipt below	Cosmetology	
Order ID #	Mail form and payment to the Board office at the address pro above.	ovided
#4 Military Service (Complete if applicable)		
Military Service (Provide a copy of your CAC card or your Military ID)		
Military Spouse (Provide a copy of your CAC card or your Military ID)		
Military Service Member (Provide your DD-214 and separation date		
below) Separation Date:		
#5 Citizenship Status		
Pursuant to federal law, a person who is not a U.S. citizen is not eligible for licensure un		
□ a U.S. Citizen. □ a nonimmigrant with a visa: (Type of Visa e.g. F-1; F-2; H-1B)	 a permanent resident/resident alien (include a front and back your card with this application). 	copy of
□ a nonimmigrant whose visa for entry is related to employment in the United States.	Jos. 33. 3 Mar and appropriate.	

05/17/2023



714 SW Jackson Suite 100 Topeka, KS 66603 Telephone: (785) 296-3155 Fax: (785) 296-3002 Email: Kboc@ks.gov Website: www.kansas.gov/kboc

#6 Licensure and Training Verification I hold a valid license in another US State, District or Territory in the area of practice in which I am applying for. List all stateswhere you have held a license(an additional page may be attached if needed): _____ Expiration Date: License Number: Issue Date: State: Contact the state board and request verification be sent to this office. The verification must be sent directly to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology from the state regulatory board providing verification of licensure. State: License Number: Issue Date: Expiration Date: Contact the state board and request verification be sent to this office. The verification must be sent directly to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology from the state regulatory board providing verification of licensure. _____ Issue Date: _____ Expiration Date: _ License Number: ___ Contact the state board and request verification be sent to this office. The verification must be sent directly to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology from the state regulatory board providing verification of licensure. I do not hold a valid license in another US State, District or Territory in the area of practice in which I am applying for. I hold a private certification and the state (county or city) that I was practicing in does not require a license to practice this profession. I do not hold a valid license in another US State, District or Territory in the area of practice in which I am applying for. I do not hold a private certification and the state (county or city) I was practicing in does not require a license to practice this profession. Training #1 Trainer Name: Trainer License Number: Facility Name: ______ Facility Address: _____ Training Start Date: ______ Training End Date: _____ Total Hours: _____ Total Procedures: _____ (The KBOC will only recognize hours and procedures obtained through a valid apprenticeship under a practitioner licensed in the field in which you apprenticed.) Training #2 Trainer Name: Trainer License Number: Facility Address: Training Start Date: Training End Date: Total Hours: Total Procedures: (The KBOC will only recognize hours and procedures obtained through a valid apprenticeship under a practitioner licensed in the field in which you apprenticed.) Training #3 Trainer Name: Trainer License Number: _____ Facility Address: Training Start Date: Training End Date: Total Hours: Total Procedures:

Stop and review your application. Failure to complete <u>ALL</u> fields will result in an incomplete application and subsequent licensing delays. Please see the instructions on pages 2 - 4 for submission requirement details.

(The KBOC will only recognize hours and procedures obtained through a valid apprenticeship under a practitioner licensed in the field in which you apprenticed.)



714 SW Jackson Suite 100 Topeka, KS 66603 Telephone: (785) 296-3155 Fax: (785) 296-3002 Email: Kboc@ks.gov Website: www.kansas.gov/kboc

#7 Employment History List your complete employment history in reverse order, beginning with your present status as pertains to the area of practice in which you are applying for. Your Job Title: Employer Phone Number: ____ Employer Address: _____ City: ____ State: ___ Zip: ____ Employer Email: ____ Employment Start Date: _____ Total Months of Employment: _____ Employer Name: _____ Your Job Title: ____ Employer Phone Number: ___ Employer Address: _____ City: ____ State: ___ Zip: ____ Employer Email: _____ Employment Start Date: _____ Total Months of Employment: _____ Employer Name: ______ Your Job Title: ______ Employer Phone Number: ______ Employer Address: _____ City: ____ State: ____ Zip: ____ Employer Email: _____ Employment End Date: Total Months of Employment: Employment must be verified. You must contact each place of employment and request an employment verification letter be sent directly to this office. The verification letter must be sent directly from the Kansas Board of Cosmetology from the employer, we cannot accept this documentation from applicants. The verification letter should include the employer's name and the full address of the business, your full name, the dates of your employment, and your job title. You must provide your employment history relevant to the application and complete the employment verification affidavit stating that the application information and employment history is true and accurate. Unverified employment will not be recognized. #8 High School Education □ US Diploma: Name of Accredited High School: ______ Please contact the high school from which you graduated and request a copy of your transcript be sent to our office. ☐ General Education Diploma (GED): State: _____ Please contact the testing facility or the State Board of Education where you attained a GED and request verification be sent to our office. ☐ Foreign Diploma: Country: Date of Request: If you completed high school outside of the United States, it is your responsibility to have the training verified by an educational credential evaluator. #9 Attestation I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Kansas that I have read and understand the application, and that the information provided is true and correct. Signature Required:___ Out of state applications are complex and require additional staff time. Processing of each application will not begin until ALL documentation is received. Please refrain from sending board staff multiple correspondence to ensure the fastest possible service. If you have not been contacted within 15 business days regarding a status update, you may send an email to kboc@ks.gov. If you have questions about this form please e-mail kboc@ks.gov

Failure to complete ALL fields will result in an incomplete application which cannot be processed.