

Phone: 785-296-3155 Fax: 785-296-3002 KBOC@ks.gov www.ks.gov/kboc

Laura Kelly, Governor

# Board Meeting Minutes May 10, 2021

The Kansas Board of Cosmetology held a videoconference and teleconference Board meeting on Monday, May 10, 2021, at 9:30 a.m. The Board Compliance Director recorded the minutes.

## **Board Members Present:**

David Yocum, Chair Nichole Hines, Vice Chair Ashley Rangel, Member Christine Burgardt, Member Kimberly Mancuso, Member Dave Tucker, Member Kelly Robbins, Member Mary Blubaugh, Member

## **General Public:**

Kimberly Alfaro – Mitsu Sato Academy Wida Egans – Washburn Tech

# **Staff Present:**

Laura Gloeckner, Executive Director Aubrie Pryer, Assistant Director Michaela Kesler, Licensing Director Alexis Henderson, Compliance Director Angela Stockdale, Board Secretary

# **Board Legal Counsel Present:**

Sarah Shipman, General Counsel Jane Weiler, Litigation Counsel

# Public Comment

No public comment.

<u>Call to Order / Approval of Agenda</u> (Additions/Deletions/Changes) David Yocum, Board Chair, called the meeting to Order at 9:37am

Mr. Yocum requested additions to the agenda: Executive Session K.S.A. 74-120 and Felony Advisory Opinion.

Motion and second to approve the agenda with additions made by Robbins and Rangel, respectively. Motion passed by roll call vote.

# **Approval of Minutes**

Motion to approve minutes for April 12, 2021 made by Burgardt and Tucker, respectively. Motion passed by roll call vote.

# **Temporary Distance Learning Cutoff**

Laura Gloeckner, Executive Director, requested that the cutoff be extended to June 30, 2021.

Motion and second to approve the extension and revisit a formal policy at the June 2021 Board meeting made by Blubaugh and Robbins, respectively. Motion passed by roll call vote.



## <u>EO-21-22</u>

Ms. Gloeckner requested the Board reinstate licensing renewal fees. If the renewals are submitted before May 28, 2021 the penalty fee will be waived. If they are submitted after May 28, 2021 a penalty fee will be incurred. Licensee's will be issued electronic notification by e-mail as soon as practicable.

Motion and second to approve made by Blubaugh and Mancuso, respectively. Motion passed by roll call vote.

## **Clock to Credit Hour Resource Document**

Ms. Gloeckner requested to add this document to the resource page on the Board's website.

## Pedicure Chair Removeable Parts Resource Document

Ms. Gloeckner requested to add this document to the resource page on the Board's website.

Motion and second to approve made by Burgardt and Tucker, respectively. Motion passed by roll call vote.

# K.S.A. 74-120 Felony Advisory Opinion

Jane Weiler, Litigation Counsel, informed the Board of a requirement to provide a felony advisory opinion to anyone requesting their felony be reviewed prior to submitting application. Ms. Weiler suggested the Board delegate a member to provide felony advisory opinions prior to applications being submitted and reviewed under the Kansas Administrative Procedures Act.

Motion and second to delegate Kimberly Mancuso, Board Member, made by Robbins and Hines, respectively. Motion passed by roll call vote.

#### **Executive Session**

David Yocum, Board Chair, made the following request, "In order to protect a matter protected by the attorney-client privilege pursuant to K.S.A. 75-4319(b)(2), I move that the Board recess into executive session for consultation with our legal counsel, Sarah Shipman, Assistant Attorney General, and litigation counsel, Jane Weiler, Assistant Attorney General, to seek legal advice exams provided by the Board. In addition, I move that Laura Gloeckner, Executive Director, Angela Stockdale Board Secretary, and Aubrie Pryer, Assistant Director, Alexis Henderson, Compliance Director, and Michaela Ewing, Licensing Director, who are part of the client circle, be present in the executive session to aid the Board in their discussions. The Board will reconvene the open meeting at 11:30 a.m. via video conference and telephone conference call." The motion was made by Kelly Robbins, Board Member, and seconded by Mary Blubaugh, Board Member, and passed by roll call vote.

#### Call to Order

Mr. Yocum called the meeting back to order at 11:31 a.m. and confirmed all parties were present by roll call vote.



Phone: 785-296-3155 Fax: 785-296-3002 KBOC@ks.gov www.ks.gov/kboc

Laura Kelly, Governor

## **Extension of Executive Session**

David Yocum, Board Chair, made the following request, "In order to protect a matter protected by the attorney-client privilege pursuant to K.S.A. 75-4319(b)(2), I move that the Board recess into executive session for consultation with our legal counsel, Sarah Shipman, Assistant Attorney General, and litigation counsel, Jane Weiler, Assistant Attorney General, to seek legal advice exams provided by the Board. In addition, I move that Laura Gloeckner, Executive Director, Angela Stockdale Board Secretary, and Aubrie Pryer, Assistant Director, Alexis Henderson, Compliance Director, and Michaela Ewing, Licensing Director, who are part of the client circle, be present in the executive session to aid the Board in their discussions. The Board will reconvene the open meeting at 11:47 a.m. via video conference and telephone conference call." Motion and second to extend the Executive Session until 11:47 a.m. made by Hines and Burgardt, respectively. Motion passed by roll call vote.

## Call to Order

Mr. Yocum called the meeting back to order at 11:49 a.m.

Motion and second to authorize Board staff to administer a one-time written practical exam after July 1, 2021, in an outside meeting room designated by the Executive Director including security provided by Capitol Police made by Robbins and Tucker, respectively. Motion passed by roll call vote.

#### **Director's Report**

Ms. Gloeckner provided the Board with an overview of pending legislation, agenda items, and assignments currently in progress at the Board office.

# Ergometrics Reports: March 2021 & Q1 2021

For Informational Purposes Only.

#### **Adjournment**

Motion and second to adjourn the meeting at 12:00 p.m. made by Mancuso and Robbins, respectively. Motion passed by roll call vote.